Visual Culture Poster

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-18-35-16

I was given the task of creating a poster for my essay, featuring the essay title, a few key words to do with my concept, and a short summary of what I intend to write about and which sources I plan to reference. The inspiration for my poster, as he often is whenever I am posed with a graphic design related task, was Jamie Reid, who designed the album covers and posters for the Sex Pistols. I incorporated his use of ransom note lettering and torn paper into my design as I personally find the tactile fanzine style aesthetically pleasing, and I kept the poster in monochrome for similar reasons, as I thought it looked particularly striking yet simple. Without the distraction of colour, I hope that viewers will actually engage with the content.

Leave a Reply

